IMPACT

IMPACT

It took me three days to finish this movie “The Intern” because I’ve been very busy this week. There are a lot of deadlines and submissions of tasks that I need to finish. I thought at first I just need to watch it for the sake of watching and writing a reaction or reflection paper but apparently I really enjoyed it. The first reason is that I’m really tired, so I need to wind up for a little bit and this movie made that possible. I had a great laugh for some scenes that were extremely hilarious. The second reason is that I admire how the story was created like who made that idea to hire a senior intern in a 21st century kind of business were obviously internet has gone so popular? Lastly, “Ben Whittaker” really reminds me of my dad. Of course he’s not that kind of an ideal like for other children, but in my case he’s the most suitable father that I could ever have. We quarrel a lot and most of the time we misunderstood some things, but true enough, I’m grateful that he’s my dad. Anyway, he’s turning 75 on Monday. I wish he’s also proud of me as much as I’m proud of him.

Out of all the characters in the movie, I see myself as “Becky” except that I’m very thin and I don’t cry a lot. I’m unorganized person and I cannot work properly when I’m pressured. I know I can do a lot of things, but fear and shyness often affect me when it comes to showing what I’ve got. So, I end up being devastated sometimes because I have a lot of regrets that keeps haunting me every night before I go to sleep.

Well, the movie affected me in some way that even if I’m not a media student or practitioner, just a normal person, it will still make an impact to me. Not because of the idea or the plot that it has, but the message that the story wants to convey to its viewers. For some other time, we need to set aside our differences for us to learn. This world is already filled with noise and sometimes we need to stop in order to listen. Being quiet can be a struggle, but it can help us to maintain our inner peace in ourselves. As per Ecclesiastes 3:7 says, there is “A time to tear and a time to mend, a time to keep silent, and a time to speak.” For in the silence the Lord our God speaks to us.

With the help of social media, families can be connected to each other; not only physically but also virtually. Maybe in the future there will be a lot of inventions to be made that will help us to grow and make our relationships with each other stronger and better. There is still a lot to discover, all you need to do is take part of it and start right now.

The cast and the crew of The Intern

Leave a comment